8 October 2021, 7pm
Duration: 2 hours
Price: €9,00 - €24,00
Venue: Palace of the Grand Dukes of Lithuania (Katedros Sq. 4, Vilnius)
Piano Petras Geniušas
Orchestra Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Gintaras Rinkevičius


M. Ravel. “Spanish Rhapsody“
M. de Falla. “Nights in the Gardens of Spain” for piano and orchestra
O. Respighi. Symphonic poems “Pines of Rome” and “Fountains of Rome” from the “Roman Trilogy”


Tonight, pianist Petras Geniušas and conductor Julius Geniušas present to the listeners of the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra a special musical program filled with southern sounds, colours, smells and tastes, featuring the works of the Frenchman Maurice Ravel (1875–1937), the Spanish Manuel de Falla (1876–1946) and Italian Ottorino Respighi (1879–1936), filled with sensual histories of southern European lands.

Pianist Petras Geniušas stands out for his versatility of interests and constant, often risky search for new forms of expression, unusual musical and spiritual experiences. Having mastered a wide repertoire of classical, romantic and contemporary works, he prepares recitals and performs as a soloist with Lithuanian symphony orchestras, various chamber ensembles and soloists, as well as conductors. His stage partners have been such stars of the music world as M. Rostropovich, Y. Menuhin, R. Katilius, A. Kniazev, D. Gering, V. Noreika, V. Chekasin, V. Tarasov.

Born into a family of musicians, P. Geniušas graduated from the Lithuanian Academy of Music under Prof. Jurgis Karnavičius, and continued his studies at the Moscow Conservatory under the legendary Prof. Vera Gornostayeva. A series of highest awards at the top-notch piano competitions remarkably confirmed his reputation as one of the most gifted and accomplished pianists of his generation. In addition to regular engagements in Lithuania, P. Geniušas has toured over 40 countries around the world and performed at the world’s major concert venues including the St. Petersburg Philharmonic Great Hall, New York Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall and Avery Fisher Hall, Tokyo Geijitsu Geikijo, and Vienna’s Musikverein.

In recognition of his wide-ranging concert activities and artistic accomplishments, he became the recipient of the Lithuanian National Award 1992 and WIPO Creativity Award 2004. In 2011 he received by the Ministry of Culture medal "Carry your Light and Believe". In 2015 Petras Geniušas was awarded the Order of the Grand Duke Gediminas.

On this evening, the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra will be conducted by prof. Julius Geniušas. Since 1986 he has been working at the Kaunas State Musical Theatre, since 2015 – at the Lithuanian National Opera and Ballet Theatre. During his career, J. Geniušas has conducted more than 2,700 performances.