22 April 2022, 7pm
Duration: 2 hours
Price: €9,00 - €24,00
Venue: Palace of the Grand Dukes of Lithuania (Katedros Sq. 4, Vilnius)


J. Brahms. Violin Concerto in D major, op. 77
C. Debussy. “La mer“ (three symphonic sketches for orchestra)
M. Ravel. Suite No. 2 from ballet “Daphnis et Chloé”


The world-renowned Italian violinist Domenico Nordio performed his first recital at the age of ten, and at the age of sixteen won the Viotti International Competition in Vercello (Italy), chaired by the legendary Yehudi Menuhin. After various successes in international competitions, his international career was opened to him by the European Grand Prix in 1988, when Nordio became the first and only Italian to win this award. The violinist has performed at prestigious world concert venues, such as La Scalla in Milan, Carnegie Hall in New York, Barbican Centre in London and many more. D. Nordio has also performed with some of the world’s most renowned symphony orchestras, such as London National, French National, Swiss orchestras and others. This spring in Vilnius the renowned violinist will perform Violin Concerto in D major op. 77 by the German composer Johannes Brahms (1833–1897) – it is the only concert dedicated to this instrument in the composer's creative biography.

The second part of the concert will feature music by the French Impressionists. Claude Debussy's (1862–1918) "La mer" is written to convey the composer's childhood memories. Deliberately avoiding the term "symphony," Debussy called the work "three symphonic sketches", and titled them "From Dawn to Noon on the Sea," "Playing of the Waves," and "Dialogue of the Wind and the Sea". Just a few years after its premiere in 1905, "La mer” has become one C. Debussy’s most fascinating and most frequently performed symphonic works.

Maurice Ravel (1875–1937) began writing his ballet “Daphnis et Chloé” in 1909, commissioned by Sergei Diaghilev, one of the most famous ballet impresarios. It is a story dating back to ancient Greek times about the love between goatherd Daphnis and the shepherdess Chloé. Ravel also called the ballet a "choreographic symphony" – both his contemporaries and critics of today agree that the work is composer's masterpiece for symphony orchestra.

This concert for the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra will be conducted by Marc Tardue, an American conductor of French and Italian descent. M. Tardue has served as principal guest conductor of the Icelandic National Opera, artistic director of the Grenoble Instrumental Ensemble (France), music director of the Biel Symphony Orchestra (Switzerland), chief conductor of the Porto National Orchestra (Portugal) and artistic director of the Jena Philharmonic Orchestra (Germany). He is currently the chief conductor of the Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra (Croatia). The conductor collaborates with symphony orchestras in Switzerland, Sweden, France, Belgium, Poland, Spain and other countries. In 1989 M. Tardue was awarded the Order of the French Knight of the Chevalier des Art et Lettres, and in 2004 received Portugal's highest Cultural Merit Award Medalha de Mérito.