10 May 2024, 7pm
Duration: 2 hours
Price: €20,00 - €60,00
Venue: LSSO Concert Hall (Vilniaus Str. 6, Vilnius)
Viola Rolandas Romoslauskas
Piano Alexander Paley
Orchestra Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Gintaras Rinkevičius


M. Bruch. Romance for viola and orchestra, op. 85
R. Schumann. Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54
H. Berlioz. Symphony “Harold in Italy”, op. 16

This spring Rolandas Romoslauskas, concertmaster of the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra's viola section and founder of the chamber ensemble “Vilnius Arsenal”, celebrates the 40th anniversary of his creative activities. To mark the occasion, the violist and the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Maestro Gintaras Rinkevičius, the artistic director and chief conductor of the orchestra, invite you to a special concert with an exclusive guest appearance by Alexander Paley, a friend of Romoslauskas' from the time of his studies and a virtuoso of the piano.

Rolandas Romoslauskas began his viola studies at the M. K. Čiurlionis National School of Arts, and later continued his studies at the prestigious Moscow State P. Tchaikovsky Conservatory. After graduating from the latter in 1984, he entered an active concert life. Since then, the violist has performed with the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra and the St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra, participated in international chamber music festivals in Luxembourg, France, Germany and Poland, and gave solo concerts in Vilnius, as well as other Lithuanian cities. In 2006, Romoslauskas gave concerts in Paris and Reims with the World Philharmonic Orchestra, and in 2007 he performed with pianist A. Paley at the Chamber Music Festival in Richmond (USA). In 1986, the violist took the initiative to form the chamber ensemble “Vilnius Arsenal”, whose original thematic concerts have become traditional events of the Museum of Applied Arts in Vilnius. This year marks the 30th anniversary of R. Romoslauskas's tenure as concertmaster of the viola section of the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra.

In the first part of the concert R. Romoslauskas will play the Romance for Viola and Orchestra, Op. 85 by the German composer Max Bruch (1838-1920). The Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in A minor by Robert Schumann (1810-1856) will also be performed by A. Paley.

In the second part of the concert, the audience will hear the opus “Harold in Italy” by Hector Berlioz (1803-1869). This is a four-movement symphony with a solo part for viola, written by the famous French Romantic for Niccolò Paganini, weaving in memories of his poetic wanderings in Italy. Rumour has it that when Paganini saw the sketches of the symphony, he was disappointed by the pauses in the viola part, and he and the composer parted ways. However, it was destined that a few years later, during a visit to Paris, Paganini heard Berlioz's “Harold in Italy”. He was so enchanted that after the concert he knelt in front of the composer and kissed his hand.


  • 50% off for youth up to 26 years of age. Valid for one ticket when purchased at the Vilnius Congress Hall Box Office upon providing a valid identity document (except for tickets to family concerts).
  • 20% off for senior and disabled people. Valid for two tickets when purchased at the Vilnius Congress Hall Box Office upon providing a valid identity document.
  • 20% off for groups. Valid for groups of 20 or more people. The organiser of the group gets two complimentary tickets to the concert attended by the group.

Discounts do not apply for standing-room and additional-seat tickets.

An extra charge of 1 euro by BILIETAI.LT UAB is excluded (discount not applicable).