9 October 2020, 7pm
Duration: 2 hours
Price: €8,00 - €24,00
Venue: Vilnius Congress Hall (Vilniaus Str. 6-1, Vilnius)
Violin Moné Hattori
Orchestra Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Mārtiņš Ozoliņš


F. Mendelssohn. Overture from the symphonic suite "A Midsummer Night's Dream"
J. Sibelius. Violin Concerto in D minor, op. 47
H. Berlioz. “Symphonie fantastique“


Violinist Moné Hattori, who has won five international competitions, is called the "jewel of Japan" and is undoubtedly one of the best violinists of her generation. At just 21, Hattori has been praised by critics for "the highest level of mastery, sensuality, musicality and passion" ("Berner Zeitung"), and is definitely on the list of the world's best violinists.

M. Hattori was born in Tokyo, into a family of musicians. Three generations on her father’s side were successful composers, and her mother became Moné’s first violin teacher. Aged ten, she became the youngest ever winner of the 11th International Competition for Young Violinists in Honour of Karol Lipinski & Henryk Wieniawski, Poland (2009), also taking First Prize at the All Japan Art Association Competition that same year. She went on to win the Grand Prix and various special prizes at the 9th International Competition “Young Virtuosos”, Bulgaria (2013), and the 7th Novosibirsk International Violin Competition (Senior Division), Russia (2013), in which she won the “17 years and over” category at the age of just 13. Most recently, M. Hattori won the Grand Prix at the inaugural International Boris Goldstein Violin Competition in Bern, Switzerland (2015).

The violinist regularly performs with all largest Japanese symphony orchestras (Japanese Philharmonic, Osaka Philharmonic, Tokyo Philharmonic, NHK, etc.), as well as Novosibirsk, German Symphony, Franz Liszt Chamber and other orchestras. Moné Hattori plays a violin by Pietro Guarneri of Venice (1743).

During the concert, M. Hattori will perform one of the most famous works of the Finnish composer Jean Sibelius (1865–1957) – Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D minor, Op.  47. In 1904, as the composer was passionately working on the manuscript, his wife Aino wrote in her letters: “Jean is completely on fire with this concert – and so am I! He doesn’t sleep all night, he plays the violin with incredible beauty and can’t tear himself away from those charming tunes – he has so many ideas in his head that it’s hard to comprehend. And all musical themes can be developed – life itself is pulsating within them”.

In the second part of the concert, the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra will perform one of the most famous works of the great French romantic Hector Berlioz (1803–1869) – “Fantastical Symphony”, the full title of which is “Fantastical Symphony: Episode in the Life of an Artist”. This symphony is one of the first works of programmatic music, and also stands out for its highly innovative, even revolutionary ideé fixe theme of the time: it depicts H. Berlioz's own hallucinatory fantasies, as he obsesses over his unrequited love for Irish actress Harriet Smithson. Surprisingly, the composer's suffering, which lasted seven years after the premiere of the symphony, suddenly came to an end: impressed by the fame of H. Berlioz (the premiere included such guests as Franz Liszt, Frédéric Chopin, Niccolò Paganini, writers Alexandre Dumas, Victor Hugo and George Sand), his beloved H. Smithson finally agreed to marry him. Presented in Paris in 1830, the Symphony earned Berlioz the reputation of one of the most progressive composers of the century.

On this evening, the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra will be conducted by one of the best Latvian conductors, the Chief Conductor of the Latvian National Opera and Ballet Theatre, Head of the Department of Orchestral Conducting at the Latvian Academy of Music, maestro Mārtiņš Ozoliņš.


  • 50% off for youth up to 26 years of age. Valid for one ticket when purchased at the Vilnius Congress Hall Box Office upon providing a valid identity document (except for tickets to family concerts).
  • 20% off for senior and disabled people. Valid for two tickets when purchased at the Vilnius Congress Hall Box Office upon providing a valid identity document.
  • 20% off for groups. Valid for groups of 20 or more people. The organiser of the group gets two complimentary tickets to the concert attended by the group.

Discounts do not apply for standing-room and additional-seat tickets.

An extra charge of 1 euro by Tiketa UAB is excluded (discount not applicable).