13 March 2020, 7pm
Duration: 2 hours
Price: €8,00 - €24,00
Venue: Vilnius Congress Hall (Vilniaus Str. 6-1, Vilnius)
Violin Domenico Nordio
Orchestra Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Modestas Pitrėnas


A. Malcys. “Above Us Only Sky” (for symphony orchestra)
J. Brahms. Violin Concerto in D Major, op. 77
L. van Beethoven. Symphony No. 7 in A Major, op. 92

The world-renowned Italian violinist Domenico Nordio performed his first recital at the age of ten, and at the age of sixteen won the Viotti International Competition in Vercello (Italy), chaired by the legendary Yehudi Menuhin. After various successes in international competitions, his international career was opened to him by the European Grand Prix in 1988, when Nordio became the first and only Italian to win this award. The violinist has performed at prestigious world concert venues, such as La Scalla in Milan, Carnegie Hall in New York, Barbican Centre in London and many more. D. Nordio has also performed with some of the world’s most renowned symphony orchestras, such as London National, French National, Swiss orchestras and others. This spring at the Vilnius Congress Hall the renowned violinist will perform the Violin Concerto in D Major, op. 77 by German composer Johannes Brahms (1833–1897). 77. At the beginning of the concert we shall listen to Arvydas Malcis’ (b. 1957) composition "Above Us Only Sky" for symphony orchestra. With this piece, A. Malcys won the third prize at the International “Sinfonia Baltica” Composers Competition in Riga.

In the second part of the concert, the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra will perform Symphony No. 7 by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827), written by the composer while at the Bohemian Healing Waters Resort in Teplice (Czech Republic). L. van Beethoven regarded this symphony as one of his finest works; after the premiere, one of the most famous music critics of the time wrote that "the symphony is the melodically richest, most pleasant and understandable of all L. van Beethoven's symphonies." Symphony No. 7 is undoubtedly one of composer's most optimistic works, and its second part “Allegretto” is often performed as a stand-alone piece due to its unending popularity.

This evening listeners will have a rare opportunity to hear the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra conducted by Modestas Pitrėnas. M. Pitrėnas is one of the most prominent conductors of our country. Since autumn 2015 he has been the artistic director and chief conductor of the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra. In 2009-2014 he was the chief conductor of the Latvian National Opera, in 2006–2011 – chief conductor of the Kaunas Symphony Orchestra. Starting with 2018, Maestro is also the chief conductor of the Opera Theatre and Symphony Orchestra of St. Gallen (Switzerland). In 2012 M. Pitrėnas was awarded the highest Lithuanian award - the National Prize for Culture and Art.